behind the lens.

by libbimayer

 

 

One of my favorite scenes from the commercial shoot today. Image

Between coordinating the schedules of my short notice recruited talent, dragging around equipment and shooting each scene a minimum of three times I think it’s safe to say the shoot was a little more effort than we expected. Myself and a classmate filmed our first commercial today, an eight scene deodorant commercial with two actors and two actresses.

An overcast sky made for gorgeous outdoor shots, and filming the Friday before spring break made for a less crowded campus and a tamable amount of ambient sound. We did not experience any hiccups in operating the equipment; our greatest challenge while shooting was organizing the shots by availability of our talent and completing them in timely manner. A piece of me felt as though I was wasting their time while we set up equipment and white balanced, leaving me pressured to run through the scene, but they were all very patient and happy to help.

I did not think I would enjoy being behind the camera; standing behind the camera in the studio is boring. However, being able to direct the talent while working with a script and attempting to match the picture in your head with what is playing out is a much more colorful ordeal, and I am excited to see the final product.